FOSS.in Day 2

It seems that my blog (or rather my biological clock) is having an inbuilt latency as day 3 at FOSS.in is now halfway through and my post is still on Day 2. Things are not yet in a publishable state so I may have to wait till late in the night to put it up on the blog I suppose! The second day was actually a big day – The day of Fedora :-) It was a Miniconf as the guys here intend to put it, but surely our intentions were beyond just a mini thing and as I gauged by the audience response, we made it quite well.

Need I say anything more? Having already two talks for the main conference and quite a few more for the Miniconf in the pipeline ensured that there was a controlled release of a drug called Fedora to the attendees.

The Talks

The Fedora Foss.in 2010 Wiki Lists all the talks given (The presentations are linked there too). The content is already described there so I shall proceed to describe how these were delivered.

  • Amit – Serious, to the point, loaded with info
  • Aditya – Was flowing in the flow
  • Arun – Awesomely delivered, complete with sort of a mini-war between emacs and vim :-) (emacs won, however, I use neither)
  • Shreyank – Short and Sweet
  • Suchakra – Crappy! (I really don’t know how I fared, that’s for the others to tell)
  • Neependra – Demonstrated well, but mostly went above my head.

Aftermath

We already had a deluge attendees and the swag got over so very soon. Lots of media was distributed and queries solved personally. I loved it so much when a professor came up to me and indicated that they were giving up on proprietary tools for Electronics/Embedded education in their college and shall be aiming at FEL instead. I know its tough for most of (the hardcore hackers in) you to relate to the joy that I get when someone talks about FOSS technologies in Embedded/Electronics to me ;-) We shall be surely seeing new faces and names in the Fedora India mailing list for sure.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

